Top agribusiness talents shine as Zanda McDonald Award shortlist unveiled

The Zanda McDonald Award, has revealed their shortlist of 10 young professionals from Australia and New Zealand for the 2024 award.

In People3 Minutes

Trans-Tasman agricultural badge of honour, The Zanda McDonald Award, has revealed their shortlist of 10 young professionals from Australia and New Zealand for the 2024 award.

Carla Muller

The award recognises future leaders working in agriculture and provides a prize package tailored to mentoring and education. Next year marks the awards’ 10th anniversary of inspiring and nurturing agricultural leadership.

Jordi Hoult

The shortlist of 10 – five from each country – were selected for their leadership skills, passion, and the

contribution they’re making within the primary sector.

The New Zealand finalists are:

  • Nancy Crawshaw

    Carla Muller, 31, Agricultural Economist and Principal Consultant for Perrin Ag and former Director of NZIPIM, based in Whakatane

  • Jordi Hoult, 29, vet and Senior Adviser at the Ministry for Primary Industries, based in Manawatu
  • Nancy Crawshaw, 27, Extension Officer for Angus Australia based in Nuhaka, northern Hawke’s Bay
  • Richard Dawkins

    Richard Dawkins, 34, sheep and beef farmer and Vice President of Marlborough Federated Farmers, based in Blenheim; and

  • Tim Dangen, 31, beef farmer in Muriwai, West Auckland, and 2022 recipient of the FMG Young Farmer of the Year Award.
Tim Dangen

The Australian finalists are Caitlin McConnel, 33, Agribusiness Lawyer at Clayton Utz, Chair of the Future Farmer Network and farmer based in South East Queensland; Nick Dunsdon, 33, Manager of Coban Pastoral Co and Rural Property Agent at GDL based in Cunnamulla, Southwest Queensland; Sam Fryer, 33, Regional Area Manager for the Queensland Rural and Industry Development Authority and founder of “A Place To Call Home” podcast, a guide to agricultural land ownership; Tessa Chartres, 32, General Manager Business Development for Murray Irrigation Ltd and Chair of the South West Music Regional Conservatorium, based in Deniliquin New South Wales; and Xavier McCluskey, 29, Processing Specialist for Greenstock, based in Tamworth NSW.

Shane McManaway, award chairman, says the judges were elated with the calibre of the applicants, as they approach the awards’ 10-year anniversary.

“It’s wonderful that this award has been helping grow future leaders in agriculture for a decade now, providing unique opportunities to connect, collaborate and foster learnings from industry mentors who have walked the path.

Yet again we’ve been blown away by the people who have applied, and it’s encouraging to see the immense talent coming through from the next generation. We’re thrilled with our shortlist, and looking forward to meeting everyone in person for interviews next month to get to know them better.”